BJP registers convincing wins in Assam by-polls

Guwahati, Nov 22 (IANS) The BJP on Tuesday won the by-election to both Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency as well as to Baithalangso Legislative Assembly seat, defeating the nearest Congress rivals by huge margins.

While BJP’s Pradan Baruah won the Lakhimpur seat by a margin of 1,90,219 votes, the saffron party’s candidate for Baithalangso constituency Dr. Mansing Rongpi defeated his Congress rival by over 16,000 votes.

The Election Department officials in Guwahati said while Pradan Baruah of the BJP cornered 5,51,663 votes, Congress’ Dr. Hema Hari Prasanna Pegu could got only 3,16,444 votes in Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency.

Similarly, BJP candidate Dr. Mansing Rongpi bagged 72,160 votes, while his nearest Congress rival Rupon Sing Ronghang could poll only 55,560 votes.

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, while thanking all the citizens of the state for decisively voting for the BJP candidates, said that the mandate signifies people’s faith in the efforts of the present dispensation for bringing a tangible change in their lives.

“The NDA government led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has unleashed a ‘jihad’ against corruption, and in tandem with the Union government, the state government has also been taking firm steps to root out all corrupt practices from government establishments.

“The huge margins of victory of both BJP-led alliance candidates indicate people’s unconditional support for the government’s fight against corruption and the welfare measures adopted in the last six months of its tenure,” Sonowal added.

Polling in both the constituencies was held on November 19 and it recorded about 60.83 per cent voting.

While the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat fell vacant after former Union minister Sarbananda Sonowal relinquished his membership of the Lok Sabha to become the Chief Minister of Assam earlier this year, the Baithalangso seat became vacant after Congress legislator Mansing Rongpi resigned from the Assam Legislative Assembly to join the BJP.