ERSA in Beighton Cup quarter final

Kolkata, Dec 21 (IANS) Eastern Railway Sports Association sailed into the quarter final by decimating Howrah Union 7-0 in the 121st all India Beighton Cup hockey tournament here on Wednesday.

Abhishek Singh and Silanand scored a brace each, while Aslam Lakra, Saurav K Singh and Dipak Kullu struck one apiece for the winners in the one-sided game at SAI ground.

In other matches, Bhubaneswar Hostel got past CAG 3-1, while Bharat Petroleum butchered Police AC 12-1.

Teophil Kujur (2) and Suman Kujur found the target for Bhubaneswar, while Nithin Timmaiah struck for CAG.

For Bharat Petroleum, Sher Singh and Jarnail Singh scored two goals each. Ehtesham Khan, Manpreet Singh, Amir Khan, Harmanpreet, Lalit Upadhyay, Varun Kumar, Hari Prasad and Tushar Khandekar made solitary strikes. The lone goal for Police AC came from the stick of Atanu Saha.

In another game, Indian Oil trounced Central Secretariat 8-1. Sanjay Kumar (3), Raghunath V.R. (2), Gurjinder Singh (2), and Khotajit Singh got the goals for the Oil PSU. Jayesh Jhadav scored the reducer for Central Secretariat.