Jammu and Kashmir, Chief Minister, Mehbooba Mufti leads in bypoll

Anantnag, June 25: Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti is leading with 4,003 votes in the third round of counting for South Kashmir’s Anantnag assembly constituency.

Mehbooba is leading at the end of the third round of counting with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) securing 4,112 votes and Congress and National Conference getting 1,242 and 467 respectively.

Meanwhile, the Congress workers created ruckus outside the counting hall, saying they found the EVMs unsealed.

The Congress workers raised slogans in the counting hall and said the EVMs have been changed.

Eight candidates, including Mehbooba Mufti of the PDP, Hilal Ahmad Shah of the Congress and Iftikhar Hussain Misgar of the National Conference are in the fray.

The by-election in Anantnag took place following the death of the then Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, who represented the constituency in the 87-member legislative house.

Sayeed passed away in New Delhi on 7 January after a brief illness.

Mehbooba assumed office after being sworn in as the Chief Minister of the PDP-BJP coalition government on April 4.

Mehbooba, who is not member of any of the House, is presently MP from south Kashmir Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency in Parliament.