Manipur creates seven new districts

Imphal, Dec 9 (IANS) New Collectors and police Superintendents were named on Friday after the cabinet decided overnight to form seven new districts in Manipur.

Official sources told IANS that the step was taken for administrative convenience.

The new districts are Jiribam, Kangpokpi, Tengoupal, Pharzol, Kakching, Noney and Kamjong, taking the total number in the state to 16.