Now, Trinamool controls all Murshidabad civic bodies

Kolkata, Oct 1 (IANS) Taking forward its trend of taking over the opposition-led elected local bodies in West Bengal, Trinamool Congress on Saturday took away the last Congress-controlled municipality in Murshidabad district.

“Six Congress Councillors of Kandi municipality officially switched to Trinamool Congress on Saturday,” Trinamool MP and party chief Mamata Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee told reporters at the party’s state headquarters “Trinamool Bhavan”.

“After today, Trinamool has taken its tally to 15 out of 18 seats in Kandi municipality, whereas Left-supported Independent candidates have two seats and Congress languishes with just one in their control,” Banerjee said.

After the 2016 election results, Congress had 13 seats in their kitty. However, six Congress councillors, including the Vice Chairman Gautam Roy, crossed over a few months ago. Now, with six more councillors joining Trinamool, Congress’ control over the municipality is nullified.

“Trinamool now controls all the seven municipalities in Murshidabad. After today, one would need a binocular to find the once powerful Congress there,” stated a jubilant Abhishek.

Last Wednesday, Trinamool Congress took over Murshidabad municipality, once considered Congress state chief Adhir Chowdhury’s pocket borough, as the 11 elected Congress Councillors switched allegiance to the state’s ruling party.

Trinamool also took over Behrampore municipality from Congress in September.