Polling for remaining 25 Rajya Sabha seats today

NEW DELHI March 23, 2018: Polling for remaining 25 seats of Rajya Sabha in six states–Uttar Pradesh, Chattisgarh, West Bengal, Jharkhand, Karnataka and Telangana–would be held on Friday, media reports said.

For the 58 Rajya Sabha seats to be filled, 33 candidates from 10 states were declared elected unopposed on March 15. Seven union ministers including Ravi Shankar Prasad and Prakash Javadekar were among the elected candidates.

Candidates in the poll arena

Uttar Pradesh: Besides Arun Jaitley, the others in the fray are Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, Harnath Singh Yadav, GVL Narasimha Rao and Anil Kumar Agarwal.

West Bengal: A total of six candidates, including Congress nominee Abhishek Manu Singhvi, are in the contest. The state’s ruling TMC has decided to back the eminent lawyer.

Karnataka: Five candidates are in the electoral arena for four seats. The state’s ruling Congress has fielded three nominees, while there are one each of the BJP and JD(S).

Jharkhand: Elections will also be held for two seats in where three candidates are in the fray, including two of the state’s ruling BJP and one of the Congress.

Chhattisgarh: One candidate each of the ruling BJP and main opposition Congress will compete for the lone seat.

Telangana: Four candidates will test their fate.