Scheduled Tribe status for six Assam communities

New Delhi, Dec 7 (IANS) The committee formed to recommend communities of Assam for granting the Scheduled Tribe (ST) status will submit its report shortly, Minister of State for Home Affairs Kiren Rijiju informed the Rajya Sabha on Wednesday.

“A committee has been set up by the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) to recommend the modalities for granting of Scheduled Tribe status to six communities, namely Koch Rajbongshi, Moran, Matak, Tai Ahom, Chutia and Adivasi (Tea Tribes) of Assam,” Rijiju said in a written reply.

The Government set up a committee headed by Mahesh Kumar Singla, Special Secretary (Internal Security), on February 29 and it was expected to submit its report by May 31, which was subsequently extended to October 15.

“However, due to by-election in Lakhimpur parliamentary constituency in Assam in November 2016, the committee could not finalise its reports. It is expected to submit its report shortly,” the Minister said.

At present, the six communities are in the ‘Other Backward Class’ category.