Tributes paid to Parliament terror attack martyrs

New Delhi, Dec 13 (IANS) Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and other senior leaders paid rich tributes on Tuesday to the martyrs of the 2001 Parliament terror attack here.

“Salutations to the martyrs who sacrificed their lives during the 2001 Parliament attack. Their bravery will never be forgotten,” Modi said in a tweet.

The Prime Minister also met some of the martyrs’ family members.

Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, veteran BJP leader L.K. Advani, Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha P.J. Kurien, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, and Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Anand Sharma paid tributes to the martyrs on the occasion of the 15th anniversary of the attack at the Parliament House.

The parliamentarians also observed silence in the honour of the martyrs.

On December 13, 2001, five terrorists infiltrated the Parliament House precincts and, firing with automatic weapons, killed six Delhi Police personnel, two Parliament Security Service personnel and a gardener.

All five terrorists were killed in the counter-attack by security personnel.