Winners of ‘Infosys Prize 2016’ announced

New Delhi, Nov 18 (IANS) The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) on Friday announced the winners of “Infosys Prize 2016” in six different categories.

Each of the six winners will take home Rs 65 lakh, a gold medallion and a citation certificate.

They are: Professor V. Kumaran in the category of Engineering and Computer Science; Professor Sunil Amrith for Humanities; Dr Gagandeep Kang for Life Sciences; Professor Akshay Venkatesh for Mathematical Sciences; Dr Anil Bhardwaj for Physical Sciences; and Professor Kaivan Munshi for Social Sciences.

“The winners were selected from over 250 nominations. We are grateful to our jury panel for awarding these exceptional candidates and highlighting their wonderful achievements,” said S.D. Shibulal, President, Board of Trustees, ISF, in a statement.

The awards ceremony will be held in Bengaluru on January 7.