YSR Congress to move no-trust motion against NDA government

NEW DELHI, March 16, 2018: For the first time in the tenure of National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government, the YSR Congress, led by Jagan Mohan Reddy, submitted a notice for a no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government for its refusal to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh, media reports said.

Andhra Pradesh chief minister and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N Chandrababu Naidu announced support for the motion and YSR chief is understood to have sought the backing of other opposition parties, the reports said.

His list of nine MPs is well short of the 50 numbers required for the motion to be admitted and even TDP’s 16 MPs won’t solve the purpose.

However, with a comfortable majority in the house, the government is safe and will sail through, even if the motion is admitted.

N Chandrababu Naidu announced in the assembly on Thursday that his party was ready to support the no-confidence motion against the Union government moved by any party if it meant discussing many pending issues in the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2016.

With both the parties—TDP and YSR Congress—are in race to raise the alleged ‘injustice’ to Andhra Pradesh over the terms of the state’s reorganisation for the creation of Telangana, the motion will need the support of other parties like Congress, the Left, Nationalist Congress Party, Trinamool Congress and Samajwadi Party, the media reports added.

According to Parliamentary procedure, media reports said, Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan would ask the YSR Congress floor leader if the party was pressing admission of its motion, in this case at least 50 MPs would need to stand up and support the move.

TDP and YSR Congress have been agitating in both Houses over the special status demand and the former has even pulled its ministers out of the central government.